Lake-Sumter Community College

Deans Council

Purpose and Charge

 Provide leadership advancing college and student success by:

  • Advising the Vice President of Academic Affairs on both day-to-day administration of the Academic Affairs Division and aspirational ideas within the context of the constant pursuit of continuous improvement and professionalism. The Deans Council works collaboratively with other College Divisions to further the mission of the College.
  • Areas of Focus:  Monitoring Student Learning Outcomes; implementation of new academic programs; review college academic policies and procedures; faculty rank and promotion; faculty continuing contract; oversee quality of onsite and online learning; associate, baccalaureate, certificate programs; review correlation of community/workforce demand with program offerings
  • Advancing the strategic plan, fostering cycles of improvement, monitoring college performance against set measures and targets, and making recommendations with the college mission, vision, values as a focus.  Utilize the Business Planning Process to guide recommendations.
  • Collaborating with senior leadership, committees, division and departmental personnel and other subject matter experts as appropriate.
  • Reviewing, prioritizing and making recommendation on projects/initiatives brought forward outside of the budget process
  • Evaluating, recommending, and executing projects as assigned by Cabinet

2018 - 2019 Focus and Objectives

  • Offer meaningful faculty professional development based on faculty input 
  • Establish Academic Affairs Forum as a means of increasing communication
  • Administrative procedure revisions as necessary
  • ​Legacy online review to insure Quality Matters compliance
  • SACSCOC reaffirmation
  • QEP development and implementation
  • Expansion of new SLO process to include Math and Science courses
  • Ongoing development of Bachelors of Secondary Education STEM degree program
  • Development of Mechatronics certificate offering




Dr. Douglas Wymer ​


Joan Thurman




Dr. Amy Albee-Levine
Steve Clark
Karen Hogans
Dr. Scott Hopkins
Thom Kieft
Dr. Barbara Lange
Katie Sacco

Elizabeth Terranova
Dr. Mark Thompson


Council Schedule

  • Thursdays at 9 am
  • SSB-205, SSB-210


Agendas and Minutes