Lake-Sumter Community College

Planning Council

Purpose and Charge

Provide leadership advancing college and student success by:

  • Providing support for, and making continuous improvement recommendations for key college planning and assessment processes.  
    Areas of Focus:  strategic, annual and business planning processes; academic program and service review; business intelligence; college research; review of strategic effectiveness; alignment/reallocation of resources; identifying and monitoring performance measures and targets; and ensuring compliance with regional accreditation.
  • Advancing the strategic plan, fostering cycles of improvement, monitoring college performance against set measures and targets, and making recommendations with the college mission, vision, values as a focus.  Utilize the Business Planning Process to guide recommendations.
  • Collaborating with senior leadership, committees, division and departmental personnel and other subject matter experts as appropriate.
  • Reviewing, prioritizing and making recommendation on projects/initiatives brought forward outside of the budget process.
  • Evaluating, recommending, and executing projects as assigned by Cabinet.


2018 - 2019 Focus and Objectives

  • The Planning Council is the venue for each of the eight college committees to report on the activity of the committee. Additionally, a committee may make a recommendation regarding policy, procedure, purchasing, organization, or any other area that is linked to the College mission, vision, values, and strategic plan. Planning Council will evaluate recommendations and may refer them back to the committee for more investigation or pass on the recommendation to the President’s Cabinet.


  • The Planning Council will regularly receive targeted reports from various areas of the College in order to provide an institution-wide perspective to help guide actions and recommendations.
  • The Planning Council will advise Cabinet on decisions and implementation of those decisions.​




​Dr. Douglas A. Wymer ​  ​


Ms. Joan Thurman




​Dr. Amy Albee-Levine​ ​ ​
Mr. Andrew Bicanovsky
​Dr. Heather Bigard
Ms. Diana Billingham
​Dr. Claire Brady
Dr. Laura Byrd
​Mr. Mark Duslak
Mr. Do​ug Guiler
Ms. Mary Heikkinen​
Mr. Dallas Henley
​Ms. Karen Hogans
Dr. Scott Hopkins


Mr. Thom Kieft
Ms. Jenni Kotowski
Dr. Barbara Lange
Mr. Chris Leibner​ 
Mr. Karen Meade
Ms. Rebecca Nathanson
Ms. Pam Fletcher
Ms. Carolyn Scott
Dr. Stan Sidor
Dr. Douglas A. Wymer
Mr. Kevin Yurasek


Council Schedule

All meetings start at 8:30 pm and are available in the following rooms. LE: SSB205, SL: 2-327, SU: 4-118
  • September 28, 2018
  • October 12, 2018
  • October 26, 2018
  • November 9, 2018
  • December 7, 2018
  • January 11, 2019
  • January 25, 2019
  • February 8, 2019
  • February 22, 2019
  • March 8, 2019
  • April 5, 2019
  • April 19, 2019
  • May 3, 2019
  • Summer Schedule is TBD

Agendas and Minutes